Non-Technical Regulations

Amusement Devices Technology Advisory Committee

In 2013, the decision was made to structure the Amusement Devices Technology Advisory Committee as four industry sub-committees:


Waterslides Sub-Committee


Eric Bientjes, Burnaby (bio coming soon)

Tim Kwasnicki, Delta (bio coming soon)

Chris Steunenberg, Langley – Since 1996 Chris has been the Owner/Operator of Cultus Lake Waterpark. In addition to this work, he was a general contractor with West Fraser Management Ltd. from 1990-2010. He is involved with various committees including; World Waterpark Association and National Recreation and Park Association.

Don Stewart, Duncan (bio coming soon)


Minutes June 2013


Ziplines Sub-Committee


Tom Benson, Victoria (bio coming soon)

Robert Kemp, Victoria (bio coming soon)

Scott McQueen, Sooke – Scott is the Owner/Operator and Director of Zipline Operations – Adrenaline Zipline Adventure Tours since 2007. In addition, is a firefighter for the city of Victoria since 2002 and a National Fire -Protection Association (NFPA) High-Angle Rope Rescue Technician from 2007 to present day. He is also Board member of the Victoria Firefighters Charitable Foundation.

Brent MacDonald, Squamish – Brent has been the Operations Manager for Ziptrek Ecotours since 2007. Before that he worked at Capilano University from 2003-2010 as a Skills Instructor and as a River Manager/Shareholder at Canadian Outback Adventures from 1995-2006. His committee experience includes: Valleycliff School Board, Squamish Tourism, Parent Advisory and Ziptrek “Green Team”.


Minutes June 2013

Amusement Rides Sub-Committee


Sean Healy, Vancouver – Sean is currently employed as the Supervisor of Aquatic Services with the City of Vancouver, managing the city’s indoor and outdoor aquatic facilities. A graduate of the Aquatic Specialist Program at Camosun College, Sean also holds a BSc from the University of Victoria. In addition to his life-long community aquatic recreation background, Sean brings experience as a former member of the Executive Board of the Royal Lifesaving Society of Canada; and service with both the Canadian Red Cross - Water Safety Services and BC Recreation and Parks Association (BCRPA).


This sub-committee has not yet met.

Inflatables Sub-Committee


Joe Wong, Vancouver (bio coming soon)


This sub-committee has not yet met.

If you would like copies of archived minutes, please email Meryl Howell-Fellows. 

Passenger Ropeways Technology Advisory Committee

Committee Members

Wayne Wiltse (Chair), PembertonWayne has been the Lift Maintenance Manager at Whistler/Blackcomb since 2001. He has previously worked as a lift mechanic at both Whistler/Blackcomb and Apex Alpine, and in installation and service with Leitner-Poma.

Pat Boyle, Kelowna – Pat has been the Western Manager of Leitner-Poma Canada Inc. for over 20 years, where he supervises the design, construction and servicing of ski lifts in Western Canada. He is a member of the Passenger Ropeways Technical Council of the Alberta Safety Codes Council, as well as a member of the Canada West Ski Areas Association.

Arnie Budd, Sun Peaks (bio coming soon)

Danny Cox, Whistler – Danny has worked as a risk management consultant for the past 25 years, specializing in lift maintenance and public safety. He previously worked in maintenance and operations of ski areas in British Columbia and Alberta. Danny is also the Chair of the CSA Z98 Passenger Ropeway Technical Committee.

Sue Dixon, Whistler/North Vancouver – Sue is the Manager, Health & Safety / Operations at Grouse Mountain in North Vancouver. She brings over 25 years of experience from working at Whistler/Blackcomb as well as ski areas across the Lower Mainland, where she has been active in area operations and the development and implementation of a number of training programs.

David Lynn (bio coming soon)

Bruno Mannsberger (Co-Chair), Canmore – Bruno is the Senior Project Engineer at McElhanney Consulting Services Ltd. A registered professional engineer, he has experience in the design of passenger ropeways and has worked in operations and maintenance for a number of ski areas in both British Columbia and Alberta.

Hildur Sinclair (bio coming soon)

Warren Sparks, Kelowna – Warren is the Executive Vice President and General Manager of Doppelmayr Canada Ltd, where he has worked for over 25 years. He holds a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering from the University of Calgary and is a registered professional engineer. Warren is a voting member of technical committees for both the CSA Passenger Ropeway Code and the Canadian Electrical Code.

Mike St. Clair, Kelowna – Mike has been the Mountain Manager at Big White in Kelowna since 1988. He has worked in various capacities at Big White for nearly thirty five years. He is a member and former chair of the Big White Health and Safety Committee. Mike is a Millwright and is responsible for the maintenance and operations of Big White's lift system.

George Trousdell, Courtenay – George is the Maintenance Manager for Mount Washington Alpine Resort.  He has been in the passenger ropeways industry for 25 years.  He is responsible for the safety training and overseeing basic aspects of safe working practices throughout maintenance and utilities at Mount Washington.

Shawn Whitty (bio coming soon)


Chair: Wayne Wiltse

2014 Minutes

No committee meetings were held in 2014.

2013 Minutes

Minutes October 2013
Minutes June 2013

2012 Minutes

Minutes and Action log October 2012

If you would like copies of archived minutes, please email Meryl Howell-Fellows.